reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

I think these posts have become a little ritual for me. I don’t think I could begin my weeks without one of these. What that says, I don’t know but here are the books I read last week:

  1. The Hanged Man by P. N. Elord
    I already posted my thoughts about this one.
  2. Strange Weather in Tokyo – Hiromi Kawakami
    I liked this one so much that I borrowed the only other title available from her in English today. It’s a fantastic novel in the same vein as The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa.
  3. The Chocolate Kiss by Laura Florand
    My most recent foray into the romance genre and ugh. While I did like it a bit, I just couldn’t do with the sexism and the creepiness of the love interest. It’s all so…no.
  4. The Encyclopedia of Early Earth – Isabel Greenberg
    I really liked this one.
  5. Magonia – Maria Dahvana Headley
    This one was not without its strengths but I didn’t care for the narrative arc.

I’m currently reading:

  1. Elena Vanishing – Elena and Clare Dunkle
    It’s killing me. Man, so tough.
  2. Eolyn – Karin Rita Gastreich
    I’m liking this one but I know I’ll be quite annoyed when I can’t find the sequel. And I don’t have the money to buy it. Why do you do this to me, libraries?
  3. Thousand Cranes by Yasunari Kawabata
    Eh. *shrug*
  4. Uprooted by Naomi Novik
    I just put this on my currently reading shelf but haven’t actually read a page of it. People are waiting for it at the library though so I must hustle and get it read.
  5. If There is Something to Desire – Vera Pavlova

To read in the coming week:

  1. If/When I finish Thousand Cranes, I’m going to start The Poet Slave of Cuba by Margarita Engle.
  2. When I finish Elena Vanishing, I’m going to Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly because dang, I’ll need something happy to take away the taste of it. (It’s not bad, just crazily difficult to read as it is so raw and powerful.)
  3. If I have time, I want to squeeze in Pyongyang by Guy Delisle, another one of his travel memoirs. I really like them.
  4. I also want to read a chapter or so of The Exile by C. T. Adams and see how I like it and if I want to continue it.
2 thoughts on “The Reading Forecast

  1. Lists are addictive. Gah. I finished reading Book 1 of Fairyland by Catherynne Valente last week but the library only has book 3. (What is up with libraries skipping the second book is a series?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right?! That traumatizes me, man! Who do I ask to buy the book for me? Well, actually, I just email the librarian and suggest the purchase. I may be known to plead a bit. Hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

