lists

Mid-Year Reading Report

Though I suppose I should wait until June has passed to make this post, I find that I cannot wait (and have nothing else to talk about). Well, I could talk about irrelevant stuff like how much I dislike summer and wish it’d be fall already (I know, I know, how does a girl go from loving summer to not liking it at all? When I figure out the answer, I’ll be sure to let you know).

I have read 235 books and before you start telling me that’s a grand number, let me tell you that a lot of those books were manga, graphic novels and other easily read books. It’s not that grand an achievement if you get down to it–actually, I’ve read like 110 novels which is nothing to scoff at, I know, but I’m really not a reading superhuman. Or maybe I am and I’m naysaying just to prolong my mystery? I have no idea what I’m talking about.

Anyway.

235 books read. Let’s see if I can pick out a top 15 favourites of them:

  1. Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire
    It remains my favourite book of the year. It was fantastic and if you haven’t read it, you should.
  2. Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor
    Laini does a freaking fantastical job of closing this trilogy. It was such a satisfying read and I loved that she kept it from getting maudlin and cheesy in the end. This book makes me anxious to read everything else she writes.
  3. The Water and the Wild by K. E. Ormsbee
    This middle grade debut was impressive. I loved the world Ormsbee created, the characters inhabiting said world and the story.
  4. Uprooted by Naomi Novik
    I just read this one a few days ago and it immediately clambered into my heart. Now I must have a copy of my own or I will die.
  5. The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
    I waxed poetic about this title over at The Book Wars. It was tres brilliant.
  6. The Ravenous Gown and 14 More Tales About Real Beauty by Stephanie Raff
    I haven’t yet talked about this one but rest assured, I will and I will talk loudly.
  7. This Shattered World by Amie Kaufmann and Megan Spooner
    This one packed a hell of a punch. It was fantastic in all the ways that matter.
  8. The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen
    I spoke about this, do you remember? If not, go to my archives and search it up.
  9. Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence
    This one was remarkably sensuous but sexytimes aside, I felt like it spoke a lot of truths about the human condition.
  10. Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville
    Granville tells her tale of the holocaust by framing it as a fairytale and using an unreliable narrator. It is wonderfully done, the book.
  11. The Vine Basket by Joseanne la Valley
    Valley sheds new light on the fate of the Uyghur people but does not let her message consume the narrative. The book is fresh and diverse.
  12. Strange Weather in Tokyo by Hiromi Kawakami
    This one was like living in a poem. Quietly profound.
  13. And Still I Rise by Maya Angelou
    My first collection of poetry by Angelou. I loved it.
  14. This is Sadie by Sara O’Leary and Julie Morstad
    This picturebook won my heart.
  15. Peace is an Offering by Annette LeBox and Stephanie Graegin
    This is such an important picturebook and so beautifully done.

There are other books that I haven’t mentioned but that I liked but didn’t like as much as I liked these. It will be interesting to see how this list changes when I make the end of the year report. I hope you guys check some of these out. If you trust my opinions and like the books I like, then you’ll certainly like these.

3 thoughts on “Mid-Year Reading Report

Leave a Reply

