reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Monday rolls around and with it, the time for the weekly reading report. Last week was a reading week. Behold the titles I read:

  1. Thousand Cranes – Yasunari Kawabata
    This was okay but a lot was lost in translation/context/culture.
  2. Elena Vanishing – Elena and Clare Dunkle
    Harrowing.
  3. If There Is Something To Desire – Vera Pavlova
    An occasional glimmer of brilliance but on the whole I was left unmoved. I think the fault lies in me.
  4. Uprooted – Naomi Novik
    Just as good as all the blurbs say it is. Get your copy now.
  5. Only the Good Die Young – Chris Marie Green
    Finally an urban fantasy heroine who is level-headed for all that she is a ghost.
  6. Another One Bites the Dust – Chris Marie Green
    The sequel was interesting, not as good as the first one. Curious though that both love interests were wrapped up and now Jensen is a free…um, ghost.
  7. Giants Beware! – Jorge Aguirre
    I enjoyed this one.
  8. The Poet Slave of Cuba – Margarita Engle
    Nearly killed me. This was a difficult book to read.
  9. Making Cocoa for Kingsley Amis – Wendy Cope
    This was hilarious. I enjoyed it.
  10. Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly
    This was okay. I will review it over at The Book Wars.

I am currently reading:

  1. Eolyn by Karin Rita Gastreich
    I’m about halfway through and have mixed feelings about this one. Hopefully I will finish it this week.
  2. Pyongyang – Guy Delisle
    I know many people have trouble with Delisle but I really like his graphic memoirs.
  3. Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari
    I’m only about 8 pages in but I like the unhurried narrative tone. This will take ma long time to read and I’m okay with htat.
  4. The Haunting of Page MacKenzie
    I just started this one. I hope it’s amazing.

To Read in the Coming Week:

  1. Twinkle, Twinkle by Kaori Ekuni
  2. Thief’s Covenant by Ari Marmell
  3. Brown Girl Dreaming – Jacquelin Woodson
2 thoughts on “The Reading Forecast

Leave a Reply

