book lists · Wishlist

Wishlist

What books would you buy if you had a lot of money or rather money left over for recreative purposes? I used to buy books that I’d read once and forget but now that I’m older I am a lot more selective as I have a very limited fund (essentially zero at the moment but I’m hoping that changes eventually). I’ve realized that I like using the library and want to get all my YA cravings satisfied there. Once I made that decision (unless of course I absolutely loved a YA/MG book, then I’m purchasing it), I made another decision. To work on increasing my collection of books by POC authors. Obviously I’m not limited by this and when I find a particular book I want, I get it or (more likely) yearn for it.

I’ve found that I don’t mind saving up to buy a particular edition and I will almost always buy a more expensive and better made book over something that is cheap and is made cheaply. Books are more than the words  and well, we’ve had that discussion many times before. Here are some books I’m definitely wishing for:

  1. Manabeshima Island Japan: One Island, Two Months, One Minicar, Sixty Crabs, Eighty Bites and Fifty Shots of Shochu by Florent Chavoute
    I have his Tokyo On Foot and it is so incredibly beautiful. The sample pages assure me that the quality of this one is going to be just as great.
  2. Otogizoshi: The Fairy Tale Book of Dazai Osamu by Osamu Dazai (Author), Joel Cohn (Introduction), Ralph F. McCarthy (Translator)
    I don’t think this needs a reason but just in case it does, I’ve been wanting to read Osamu Dazai for a long while and none of my libraries carry this title.
  3. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
    Particularly this edition.
  4. Paper by Bahiyyih Nakhjavani
    This edition looks so beautifully odd.
  5. The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowry
    I’ll get it someday! The pages are so beautifully red-edged.

Any of these on your wishlist? Any recommendations for pretty books? Send them my way.

4 thoughts on “Wishlist

  1. I would probably just go through and collect all the matching covers for series that I have mismatched. wouldn’t mind getting a nice version of le morte d’Arthur and perhaps the fancy penguin cloth cover classics like this one: https://www.dymocks.com.au/book/middlemarch-by-george-eliot-9780141196893/#.VdB2svlS3K4 I wouldn’t mind getting some more hard covers or illustrated versions – i have a lovely set of the LOTR and hobbit books with the most lovely illustrations and elegant covers behind wonderful dust jackets.

    Like

  2. Oh man, this is hard! Probably my first choice would be first editions of the Anne of Green Gables series. Or, really, anything at all by L.M. Montgomery. The same goes for J.R.R. Tolkien. Also, a nice rendition of “Persuasion” by Jane Austen, or Madeleine L’Engle’s “A Wrinkle In Time” quintet. I could add many more to this list, but that would get me started.

    Like

Leave a Reply

