book lists

In the Spec-Fic Genre…

It is no great secret that I love fantasy. Though I try to read a variety of genres I almost invariably return to fantasy for escape, for cathartic purposes, for fun. Here are some titles I am looking forward to reading over the next couple of months. They have all been released or will be released before the end of the year.

The House of Shattered Wings by Aliette de Bodard

Paris. Magicians. And fallen angels. I’m in. The book’s out today.

Sorcerer to the Crown – Zen Cho

Fairies, magic, a POC protagonist, and a powerful woman. Yep. I want. Out September 1st.

Black Wolves – Kate Elliott

The first in a trilogy. It’s Kate. Auto-read. Out November 3rd.

The Fifth Season – N. K. Jemisin

Jemisin always brings something new to the genre and I look forward to seeing what offers this time around. This one was released on August 4th.

Our Lady of the Ice – Cassandra Rose Clarke

I’ve loved enough of Clarke’s work till now that I’ll check out her books regardless of the premise. Out October 27th.

The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu

I have been meaning to read this ever since I heard that it was being published. People have been hyping it up and I have reason to believe that the hype is very much deserved.

2 thoughts on “In the Spec-Fic Genre…

  1. I have never read anything by NK Jemisin but I was recently lucky enough to attend a workshop led by her. It seems like she approaches world building in a very thorough way and after having heard her speak about her writing, I am very excited to experience her books for myself!

    Like

  2. <3 Fantasy. Always. The wait for some of my favourite overseas authors to be published in Oz does make me ;_;. I'm sure book bloggers feel the same (in reverse for Aussie books.) I'm hoping to pick a few books when I cross the sea and air to visit New York.

    I enjoyed Ken Liu's short stories (The Paper Menagerie and a story I read in The Future is Japanese anthology.) The Grace of Kings looks like a massive read – but I miss diving into lengthy epic fantasy books, so I need to find time for it this year too. I've always wanted to read Zen Cho's shorter fiction (I have a few on my ereader) but I'm excited to try out her novel too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

