Uncategorized

The Reading Forecast

It’s Monday again and I still don’t have a job so as usual, I spent an inordinate time reading/bewailing my circumstances/applying for jobs/staring dejectedly at the walls. I have pretty walls. And carting around the newest member of my family. Babies, I tell you, are terrifying. I was of the mistaken assumption that babies would be easier to babysit than toddlers. I have since decided that I would much rather face down someone like Sauron (wrong spelling but I can’t be bothered to look up the proper Irish spelling) than babysit a newborn. Every time he cried, I panicked because what if I had broken him? How would I handle the guilt? How would I face anyone? And diaper change becomes a whole different story. -_-

So yes. It was an eventful week. Let me tell you what I read:

  1. The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell
    Excellent book. Review should be up on The Book Wars unless I didn’t write it in which case it’ll be up soon.
  2. Hear the Wind Sing and Pinball 1973 by Haruki Murakami
    I liked Wind way better than Pinball. Review will be up on this one very soon.
  3. The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy – Marie Jaskulka
    This one has beautiful writing but I can’t handle cheating narratives. It just fills me with disgust no matter how it’s justified. I’m all “nope.”
  4. Monkey High! vol. 2-8 – Akira Shouko
    This was so cute and thematically weighty. I think contemporary kids would relate to this in more than one way. The premise is of a girl whose father is a corrupted politician embroiled in scandal transfers to a new school and falls, to her utter surprise, for someone who is like a baby money in his actions and innocence. I really enjoyed this one.
  5. Marbles: Mania, Depression, Michelangelo and Me by Ellen Forney
    This gave me an in-depth look at what it really means to be bipolar. This book is invaluable for all it offers to people who are suffering from the same condition and for those who want to learn more about it.
  6. In the Forests of the Night – Kersten Hamilton
    I really do love the characters Hamilton has created for her world. I’m not ready to read the last one and conclude this trilogy.
  7. The Diabolical Miss Hyde – Viola Carr
    This was less smutty than the cover promises and I enjoyed this one a lot more than I thought I would. I’m invested enough to read the next one anyway.

What I’m Currently Reading:

  1. The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
    More progress. I read a 100 more pages so now I’m at 407. If I go at this rate, I should be done in…erm, 5 weeks. Heh.
  2. Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth
    I really must pick this up again. I’ve only read 18 out of 576 pages. This does not bode well for me.
  3. City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennet
    Just started this and am certainly enjoying the worldbuilding at the moment. We’ll see how it pans out. Fingers crossed though.

To Read in the Coming Week:

  1. Untwine – Edwidge Danticat
  2. When The Stars Threw Down Their Spears – Kersten Hamilton
  3. The Silver Bowl – Diane Stanley
  4. Lena Finkle’s Magic Barrel – Anya Ulinich
  5. Nimona – Noelle Stevenson
  6. Why Not Me? – Mindy Kaling
One thought on “The Reading Forecast

Leave a Reply

