book haul · Roundups

October Book Haul and Wrap-Up

First for the book haul. It was a month of epic bookishness for me. I got quite a few review copies to make my way through:

12081172_450703408470919_470104783_n

Of these, I’ve read A Pocket Full of Murder, Friday Barnes, and The Scorpion Rules. I enjoyed them all and have reviewed/will them on The Book Wars eventually. For of the above titles (Sword and Verse, Confessions of an Imaginary Friend, A Song for Ella Grey, Ruffleclaw) will be reviewed on Cuddlebuggery. The cookbook I will be reviewing here so look forward to that if you want.

October was also the month of the annual VPL sale where gently used books are sold for dirt cheap. I was quite restrained at the sale but managed to snag quite a few titles I’m excited for.

12093660_1508905726094725_2014628320_n

You’ll notice that the majority of the titles I got are by women or by POC. It was my main aim at the sale and I’m glad I was able to complete it. November should show a drastic decrease in my acquisition of books, thank goodness. My TBR has swollen to 440 books and I’m doing all I can to stop the number from reaching 500.

October was seriously busy for me with relatives from all over the world coming to visit plus my nephews Haqiqa which is a religious gathering/family party. So I was a lot more sociable than I generally am. Ha. I still managed to get quite a few books read and I shall list them below. My favourites are the ones in bold.

  1. The Fat Kid by Paul Vermeersch
  2. The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow
  3. Locke and Key vol. 1 – Joe Hill
  4. The Library of Unrequited Love – Sophie Divry
  5. Friday Barnes, Girl Detective – R. A. Spratt
  6. The Rose that Grew from Concrete – Tupac Shakur
  7. The Marvels – Brian Selznick
  8. Good Omens – Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
  9. The Sleeper and the Spindle – Neil Gaiman
  10. Poisoned Blade – Kate Elliott
  11. Adrian and the Tree of Secrets – Hubert
  12. The Wild Swans – Jackie Morris
  13. Ayakashi Hisen vol. 1-4 – Kyoko Kumagai
  14. Briar Queen – Katherine Harbour
  15. Shirin and Saltman – Nilofar Shidmehr
  16. Ms. Don’t Touch Me vol. 2 – Hubert
  17. The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and Other Stories – Tim Burton
  18. Ms. Don’t Touch Me vol. 1 – Hubert
  19. Ghosting – Edith Pattou
  20. Ash and Bramble – Sarah Prineas
  21. A Year in Japan – Kate T. Williamson
  22. Mouthful of Forevers – Clementine von Radics
  23. Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy
  24. A Pocket Full of Murder – R. J. Anderson
  25. Hilo: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth – Judd Winnick
  26. Selected Haiku – Nicholas A. Virgilio
  27. The Uninvited – Cat Winters
  28. Soundless – Richelle Mead
  29. The Book of Words – Jenny Erpenbeck
  30. Fable Comics – Chris Duffy
  31. Nimona – Noelle Stevenson
  32. Owls See Clearly At Night – Julie Flett
3 thoughts on “October Book Haul and Wrap-Up

  1. Oh wow, you read so much!! Do you read multiple books at once or are you generally a fast reader? Very exciting book hauls, too! :) Book sales are the best – it’s very difficult to keep calm hahaha. I hope you enjoy your November reads :)

    Like

    1. I usually read two to three books at the same time. The heavy to carry ones I read at home and the lighter ones I lug around with me. Thank you, I’m looking forward to them as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

