reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

And it’s Monday again. Oh Monday, the rapidity with which you show up is alarming. But it’s a rainy Monday and *shudder* a cold one. I like the cold and I don’t mind the rain except when I have to go out in it. Oh but since I’m a Vancouverite, I had had no choice but to embrace the rainy nature. Gosh, the rain is terrible right now. Stop. Okay, sorry, sometimes I get carried away talking about the weather. Comes with being Canadian, I guess.

Here are the titles I read last week:

  1. The Fat Kid by Paul Vermeersch
    This is a compelling collection of poems centralized on a one person. It was sad.
  2. The Scorpion Rules – Erin Bow
    Excellent book. My review should be up on The Book Wars by now.
  3. Locke and Key vol 1: Welcome to Love Craft – Joe Hill
    Freaked me out. I mean, it’s fairly run-of-the-mill horror but had more of an impact in its medium. I don’t want to read anymore of this series.
  4. The Library of Unrequited Love by Sophie Divry
    This was okay. Not as much fun as I had hoped it would be.
  5. Friday Barnes, Girl Detective – R. A. Spratt
    I adored this MG title. A review of it shall be up in January.
  6. The Rose That Grew From Concrete – Tupac Shakur
    Reading this was an experience.
  7. The Marvels –  Brian Selznick
    Enjoyed this one.
  8. Good Omens – Neil Gaiman
    Loved this one as well.
  9. The Sleeper and the Spindle – Neil Gaiman
    Loved the way Gaiman conflated two tales.
  10. Poisoned Blade – Kate Elliott
    Very good. Enjoyed this one immensely.

So I’m currently reading:

  1. Sum: 40 Tales from the After Lives – David Eagleman
    This is fascinaaating. I know I say this about all the books I read but it truly is.
  2. Kappa – Ryunosuke Akutagawa
    I’ve just started this so I can’t really say but I think it’s sort of a Swiftian book where society is critiqued by looking at a fantastical, mythical, expression of it re: Kappas.
  3. The Golden Specific – S. E. Grove
    I’ve not yet read a page of this but I have high hopes it will be as good as its predecessor.

I want to read:

  1. Path of the Sun – Violette Malan
  2. Illuminae – Amie Kaufman
  3. The Inheritance of Ashes – Leah Bobet
One thought on “The Reading Forecast

Leave a Reply

