book haul · Roundups

November Book Haul and Wrap-Up

First things first, I suppose. The Book Haul that Shouldn’t Have Been But Was Anyway. I got some review books people and a gift that I’m super excited about reading. Here’s a picture for visual aid.

tumblr_ny6xe3O9AQ1tq05r9o1_500

All the books except for The River and the Book by Alison Croggon are for review and I have reviewed a couple of them already on The Book Wars. The River and the Book was a gift from Alison and I’m probably going to review it as well because you all know how much I love talking about good books.

Then my pre-order of the Penguin Little Black Classics finally arrived:

tumblr_nyknfmgUvr1tq05r9o1_500

Ah, the beauty. I didn’t actually like Hafez’s poetry all that much but at least I have been exposed to it enough to formulate my own opinion on it. The aesthetic appeal of these little books aside, I love the fact that they are enough to give me sips of some classics that are not overwhelming and that function to help me decide whether I want to read more by the author/poet I’m reading.

And that was it! A good haul but a manageable one. For once.

Now for the Wrap-Up:

I read 41 books last month. The titles of which are:

  1. The Nightingales are Drunk – Hafez
  2. Confessions of an Imaginary Friend – Michelle Cuevas
  3. Serpentine – Cindy Pon
  4. The Accident Season – Moira Fowley-Doyle
  5. Lost Covenant – Ari Marmell
  6. House of Sand and Secrets – Cat Hellisen
  7. Dogleaf – Cat Hellisen
  8. Ruffleclaw – Cornelia Funke
  9. A Daughter of No Nation – A. M. Dellamonica
  10. Falling in Love with Hominids – Nalo Hopkinson
  11. Winter – Marissa Meyer
  12. The Case of the Gypsy Goodbye – Nancy Springer
  13. Manabeshima Island Japan – Florent Chavouet
  14. The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline – Nancy Springer
  15. Honey and Clover vol. 2 – 10 – Chica Umino
  16. The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan – Nancy Springer
  17. Once Upon a Time in Japan – Japan Broadcasting System
  18. Sadie and Ratz – Sonya Hartnett
  19. The Lightning Dreamer – Margarita Engle
  20. Warren the 13th and the All Seeing Eye – Tania del Rio
  21. Singing the Dogstar Blues – Alison Goodman
  22. The Weird World of Words – Mitchell Symon
  23. Metamorphosis – Betsy Franco
  24. Revolver – Marcus Sedgwick
  25. Solanin – Inio Asano
  26. The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets – Nancy Springer
  27. The Case of the Left-Handed Lady – Nancy Springer
  28. Sword and Verse – Kathy Macmillan
  29. Illuminae – Amie Kaufman
  30. The Golden Specific – S. E. Grove
  31. Sum – David Eagleman
  32. A Fine Dessert – Emily Jenkins
  33. Kappa – Ryunosuke Akutagawa
Leave a Reply

