reading resolutions

2016 Reading Goals

Are you sick of reading about them yet?

Or hearing about them?

Or even seeing them in the periphery of your eyes? Vision? Yeah, vision.

I resolved earlier to read bigger books this year and I still plan to do it but I didn’t realize that in my head I had resolved to read thicker books exclusively which doesn’t work for me because I read a lot of children’s lit and not all of them are big books.

So it was time for a new resolution.

I am going to read what I want to in 2016.

Which is basically the same resolution I had in 2015. So what’s the point of this post?

Hang on, I’m getting there.

I have a few reading goals. So, here they are.

2016 Reading Goals

  1. Complete at least 10 series I am currently reading. I have this bad  habit of reading all but the last book in a trilogy or series and I just need to start reading the culminating book.
  2. Finish Shantaram. I’m enjoying this book but it’s a beast and I figure finishing it as a goal will give me motivation to read it consistently. It has yet to hook me in completely.
  3. Read three nonfiction books at least.
  4. Read a book by Kurt Vonnegut. I’ve wanted to ever since I read about how people loved him in two separate books. (Majorly The Universe Versus Alex Woods.)
  5. This is not a reading goal per se but related to reading: create a catalogue of books I own. I own enough that I don’t know how many it is I truly own and if I’m going to be a serious collector, I need to know.
  6. Read My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk and Night Film by Marisha Pessel.
  7. Read at least a hundred books from my TBR mountain.

That’s about it, really.

7 thoughts on “2016 Reading Goals

    1. Not much? Hahah! But I have read Alan Lightman’s stuff and I do adore him. I plan to read some The Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay, A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari, and that book by Garance Dore mostly because they’re already on my TBR shelf. But please do recommend away!

      Like

      1. Well I didn’t know about Lightman, so I must read his book now. I usually recommend people to read George Orwell’s essays, they are great. There is also A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson, everything Krakauer wrote, The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Other Clinical Tales by Oliver Sacks, and The Professor and the Madman by Simon Winchester. THE LIST GOES ON………

        Like

        1. Ooo, I’ve read the Bryson Book and the Oliver Sacks book and enjoyed them both. I did not like 1984 at ALL, gah. So scarred from that experience but I may try Orwell’s nonfic. I shall look up The Professor and the Madman. Thanks!

          Like

Leave a Reply

