reading forecast · Uncategorized

The Reading Forecast

How quickly Monday rolls around. So far the year has done nothing to redeem itself to me but maybe I’m slightly at fault here too. It’s difficult to get over this ennui, this sense of an ending that pervades me these days. I usually don’t talk about personal stuff here on the blog but sometimes needs must.

I decided to read slower this year. To savour each book I read instead of gulping it down and moving on. So far it has been working and I am reading slowly but I admit that I do feel sad that I am not going to read as many books this year as I did last year. But perhaps if I read better books, books that I actually remember later, I will feel better. I don’t know but we will certainly see.

Last week I read:

  1. The Cracks in the Kingdom by Jaclyn Moriarty
    This was as lovely as the first time around.
  2. A Tangle of Gold by Jaclyn Moriarty
    I liked this a lot but not for the reasons I thought I would.
  3. Piratica – Tanith
    On the other hand, I did not like this as much as I thought I would going in. Sadly.
  4. Traffic – John Ruskin
    This was majorly painful and if there are any other LBC like this one, I’m DNFing because nothing is worth struggling through that overblown self-congratulatory rhetoric.
  5. The Naming – Alison Croggon
    Despite chafing at the slow pace and the not-so-likable supporting character, I did enjoy this one just as much as I did the first time around.
  6. Oddly Normal vol. 1 – Otis Frampton
    This was…fine? I mean, I enjoyed it to a certain degree and if I see the other volumes in the library, I will pick them up.

Currently Reading:

  1. Shantaram – Gregory David Roberts
    I haven’t felt like reading this the week past but managed to read one chapter and reach page 200 so yay. Lin bhai is certainly living an interesting life.
  2. Alone on the Beach at Night – Walt Whitman
    I have come to the conclusion after 22 pages of this that I do not care for Whitman’s poetry. That his genius escapes me and well. Yeah.
  3. A Darker Shade of Magic – V. E. Schwab
    I cannot really comment on this as I am still only 26 pages in but hopefully I will enjoy this a lot.

To Read in the Coming Week:

  1. How to be a Pirate – Cressida Cowell
  2. The Night Parade – Katherine Tanquary
  3. Hook’s Revenge – Heidi Schulz
Leave a Reply

