reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Last week, I read a…lot. I get stuck into these phases once in a while when real life is difficult to handle so I give myself over to fiction–gratefully. I’ll have mini reviews in the wrap up so I’ll just be listing the titles in the forecasts.

Books read last week:

  1. The Eve of St. Agnes by John Keats
  2. A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn
  3. The Gap of Time – Jeanette Winterson
  4. Into the Dim – Janet Taylor
  5. The Riddle – Alison Croggon
  6. Step Aside, Pops – Kate Beaton
  7. Nightschool: The Weirn Books vol. 1-4 – Svetlana Chmakova
  8. Sea Rex – Molly Idle
  9. Viva Frida – Yuyi Morales
  10. The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle – Janet Fox

Books Currently Reading:

  1. Shantaram – Gregory David Roberts
    Still at 216 pages. SIGH. Must read more this coming week.
  2. Their Fractured Light – Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner
    I’m just 50 pages in but liking what I’ve read so far.
  3. A Year Without Mom – Dasha Tolstikova
    Just started this one.

To Read in the Coming Week:

I don’t rightly know what I’ll feel like but I reckon these titles will be part of the pile I choose from:

  1. Listen, Slowly Thanhha Lai
  2. The Immortals – Jordanna Max
  3. A Study in Charlotte – Brittany Cavallaro
4 thoughts on “The Reading Forecast

  1. I’ve been doing the same this past week, escaping into books, and I’ve been starting a lot of books. It has helped me feel better, so I welcome the distraction!

    And I love seeing Shantaram on your reading list, I came this close to getting it this week, but I’m not feeling brave enough for a huge book commitment right now. I’ll be very curious to hear your thoughts on it though, the comments I’ve heard on it were mostly either amazing or DNF.

    Like

    1. Shantaram is…immense. And it’s very good but because of it’s size, I have been stuck at 216 pages for a while now. I keep thinking I’ll read more and then end up not reading it at all. I do feel like he is seeing India, Mumbai especially, through a filter and not as it really is.

      Like

      1. Yup, it does look immense (both in pages and in scope), which is why I still haven’t taken the plunge yet – though I really do want to read it at some point.
        I know pretty much nothing about India, so I wonder if I would pick up on the filter thing…

        Like

        1. I’m currently reading The Wildings which is about cats in Delhi, India written by an Indian and you can see the difference in the attitudes. Still, Shantaram is very profound and I think as long as you give yourself enough time to dip in and out of it, the experience is rewarding.

          Like

Leave a Reply

