reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Welcome to a sad new Monday which is probably shiny and bright now that spring is here. Or is it? I don’t know honestly. I just know that I have two weeks to go before starting a temporary job which means I need to read as much as I can before I have little to no time at all left to dedicate to books. Adulting will begin in earnest. Here is what I read in the past week:

  1. Man Tiger – Eka Kurniawan
    This was brilliant and I loved it for reasons.
  2. Remember Body – C. P. Cavafy
    The translation was terrible. And honestly, the poetry didn’t do anything much for me.
  3. The Nest – Kenneth Oppel
    Deliciously creepy and Klassen’s illustrations enriched the reading experience.
  4. Inside Outside Overlap – Billy Mavreas
    Wordless comic that was interesting.
  5. Booked – Kwame Alexander
    I loved this one.
  6. Five Nice Mice Build a House – Chisato Tashiro
    I liked this one. It was cute. But for some reason, I feel like there was something missing.
  7. The Night Children – Sarah Tsiang
    The art by Delphine Bodet was beautiful.
  8. The Affair – Beth Kery
    Erotica is not for me. I was just amused by this entire book and a bit queasy at times. But it is way better written than 50 Shades.
  9. Tell the Wind and Fire – Sarah Rees Brennan
    Hmm.
  10. The Beautifull Cassandra – Jane Austen
    Not gonna lie, this mostly read like the melodramatic meanderings of an excitable teenage mind.
  11. The Sartorialist – Scott Schuman
    His erasure of bigger/fatter people took away from whatever he was trying to achieve for me. The absence was loud.
  12. The Crow – Alison Croggon
    Whew. Poor Hem, he has harrowing experiences without Maerad but this makes me look forward to the final book in the trilogy.

Currently Reading:

I’ve put Shantaram aside for now because I don’t feel like reading it but I will pick it up sometime later this year. I hope.

  1. Short Stories for Kids and Teens edited by Patrick Wallace
    I’m reading a story here and there and am six stories in currently. There are 20 I have to read and I’m liking some a lot more than others.
  2. Bad Feminist – Roxane Gay
    I’m finally reading this. The first essay was reflective and I liked how she took ownership of her actions without excuses or justifying herself. I look forward to making my slow way through this one.
  3. This is the Story of You by Beth Kephart
    I don’t know what else to expect from this title except beautiful writing.

To Read in the Coming Week

As usual, I don’t know what I will feel like but I reckon I will enjoy what I do choose to read.

Leave a Reply

