reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Last week I started my four-month job and I realized the truths of a daily 9-5 grind. I have a wonderful boss and I work right by central VPL. These things do a lot to alleviate the humdrum of a routine that I have resisted with all my might until now.

I have had to make choices with what to do with my now severely limited free time. Instead of spending it in front of my TV or a computer screen, I choose to read. Well, One hour a day after I get off, I read. Which means I don’t watch TV at all for five days a week and that’s okay. So far. I’m sure if there’s a Kdrama that grabs my attention, I will give in to its temptation but right now, I’m totally cool with reading.

But I’m reading far more slowly now as I am mentally exhausted by the time I get home. I still managed to read 7 books last week though which is no mean feat despite them being not very demanding.

  1. The Singing – Alison Croggon
    SO FANTASTIC. It was wonderful and reiterated why I love Alison’s works so much.
  2. Giant Days vol 1. – John Allison et al
    Loved this one as well. Can’t wait to read more. Book Wars will have a snapshot review of this.
  3. I Won a What? – Audrey Vernick
    This showed up in the mail last week and I read it to my niece who lost interest halfway through. I thought it was fun though but I’m not three. Haha.
  4. Bad Feminist – Roxane Gay
    This was splendid and I may yet write something on this book but right now I just want to digest and work through all I have read.
  5. Bitch Planet vol 1. – Kelly Sue DeConnick
    I appreciate the story and the characters but I didn’t actually like this. It’s a bit too brutal and bleak for me.
  6. Baba Yaga’s Assistant – Marika McCoola and Emily Carroll
    Excellent. Snapshot review on Book Wars soonish.
  7. The Sweet Scent of Blood – Suzanne McLeod
    The first one in an urban fantasy series. I’m going to have to read the second one to see what I really think about it.

Currently Reading:

  1. The Elephant Vanishes – Haruki Murakami
    I’m still really enjoying this. I read a story here and there. Hopefully I will finish it this coming week.
  2. Modern Romance – Aziz Ansari
    I’m on page 11 of this and I have a feeling I am going to love this.
  3. Winterwood – Jacey Bedford
    I have listed this as currently reading but have yet to read a chapter. We will see.
  4. Flamecaster – Cinda Williams Chima
    I am about a chapter in and I have feelings. The dread is coming and I hope no one else dies. Not a spoiler.
  5. Criminal Magic – Lee Kelly
    I’m two chapters in and it’s split perspectives but I am really liking how conflicted the male character is. We’ll see.

So I’m reading very different books but the majority of them are from the fantasy genre. I think I just need a lot of escapist fiction right now. I shall continue reading sips here and there as the mood strikes me. Maybe start yet another book if I want to. I’m not hurting anyone with my serial starting of new books am I now?

Happy reading, friends.

5 thoughts on “The Reading Forecast

Leave a Reply

