Downtown Diaries

Downtown Diaries #6

Sometimes life affords you opportunities, you take them, and spend a wonderful morning taking a walk and eating sugar buns. A week or so ago, I got a chance to participate in an event due to work and the experience was different from anything I have ever had.

For instance, there was a posh hotel. So posh the air was perfumed. I am not even joking. The washrooms were wallpapered but since there were no heated towels with which to wipe your hands, I don’t know, the poshness is suspect but I digress.

There was a media scrum.

IMG_20160427_113816

(Yep, that’s the Defence Minister of Canada in the little circle. My best shot of the day. Ha.)

And while this was interesting, what I loved most was the walk I took around the water front area because well. You will see:

IMG_20160427_113246

Can someone tell me what this tree is called? I’d like to marry it. So beautiful.

There is also a grandness in the scale of the buildings that make you think of mountains and pebbles. Well it did me anyway.

13108733_1023509534370360_1148212556_n

IMG_20160427_112925

Canada, being very young, doesn’t have history seeped into its stones. Well–not the kind of history that involves civilization as we are accustomed to define it. But there is a beauty to this area that is louder than age. For a girl from Fiji, this place is pretty epic.

But (arguably more importantly) this walk had a specific destination in mind and I ended up ensconced in this little posh cafe (everything is posh in that area) eating a passion fruit and coconut sugar bun and drinking a banana and coconut latte. The drink was weird and I never want a repeat of that but the sugar bun was good.

13118117_1687829168146403_1971831266_n

As sugar buns usually are.

Leave a Reply

