reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Reading Forecast

Another week looms but before we do any looming in return, here’s a reading report. I didn’t get to read as much as I usually do last week. First, things were busy at work and I was happily doing stuff (!!!) and secondly, I have been sucked back into the Kdrama world. Another Oh Hae Yong is kinda amazing so far. I might do a review of the first four episodes but only if I have time and recently, I just don’t have much time. Also, I was reading chunky books so that too is a reason. But still, I managed to finish 4 or 5 books so let’s see what they were…

  1. The King of Attolia – Megan Whalen Turner
    Gah, this was FANTASTIC. Gen, you guys, is such a wonderful character to read about. I love him.
  2. The Animal Report – John Swartzwelder
    This was amusing. Written by the dude who writes for The Simpsons, this was both absurd and funny.
  3. The Fire Children – Eric Maddern
    This picturebook is a creationist story from West Africa (I believe). I enjoyed it.
  4. Last Night’s Reading – Kate Gavino
    Gavino attends readings by authors and poets and then reproduces for her readers, in comic form, a quote from the reading. Neat stuff. I enjoyed this collection.
  5. Stiletto – Daniel O’Malley
    This was the 600 page chunker that took up all my time. I enjoyed it immensely though I did want a little more of Mafynwy than we got.

So those are the books I read. Here are the ones I am currently reading:

  1. Love Life Style – Garance Dore
    I am enjoying Dore’s advice and let’s admit it, reading fashion books is huge entertaining even if you are not overly concerned with it.
  2. Migritude – Shailja Patel
    This collection of writing (poetry, vignettes, essays) is blowing my mind.
  3. The Whatnot – Stefan Bachmann
    I have only read 11 pages but I have liked what I read so yay.
  4. Once Was a Time – Leila Sales
    Hmm. This too is promising though once again I have only read 11 pages.
  5. A Brief History of Seven Killings – Marlon James
    I love James’s writing. It’s so fresh and clear and just fun. Though obviously the themes in this work is everything other than fun or anything like fun. I am reading this super slowly but with good things you have to savour them.
  6. The Vegetarian – Han Kang
    40 pages in and I am very disturbed. This is a short book and relatively easy to read despite the disturbing nature of the story so I should have it completed by the end of this coming week. Or so I hope.
  7. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
    I was going to read this next after Stiletto so I didn’t read any of it while I sampled the other six books. But then I read a page of the next one and I knew this one will have to wait.
  8. Nine Coaches Waiting – Mary Stewart
    A friend recommended this to me and I thought it was time I read it so I checked it out of the library, read the first page and promptly fell in love. Now I have to carve out some time and just read this.

To read in the coming week:

Everything I am currently reading. Hah. And maybe some other books if they appeal to me more. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

