Adult · Art · fashion

Love Style Life

25241664

Paperback, 272 pages
Published October 27th 2015 by Spiegel & Grau
Source: Publisher

Garance Dore’s Love, Style, Life is easily touted as one of THE books fashionistas flock to (or so it seems to me after the sell-sheet sent my way). To be honest, I had no idea who Garance Dore was before I got the book and most of the people she talks about in the book, industry friends, people who I am sure are powerful and inspiring in their field are simply names to me. I must not be much of a fashionista, eh?

The book is remarkably attractive. Good quality paper with beautifully composed pages that make for easy reading. There are many pictures of beautiful people being beautiful in beautiful ways. Dore herself features in many of these pictures and well yeah.

The prose, what little there is of it, divulges Dore’s beauty secrets and we get an extended look into her tumultuous love life. Love, Life, Style is not exactly a fashionista’s bible in that it contains no guides to wonderful lives, beauty, and fame. It is, however, a soft promenade through Dore’s life and we are invited to view her journey from a little village in France to the slick city streets of New York.

The book is not as immediately relatable as say Mindy Kaling’s book–actually, I’m not gonna lie, I never relate to Dore. But I did enjoy the glimpses of her life. I didn’t take much away from the book except that blush makes anyone look prettier (which is lie btw, I put on blush and I looked like a clown though that may have had something to do with the colour of the blush I put on so liberally).

If you enjoy fashion, this would be something to check out. If you enjoy people, you will probably enjoy this. Hmm, and now that I think about it, the book will make for a wonderful gift to the fashion loving friend/family member.

2 thoughts on “Love Style Life

  1. When I read a book about fashion and lifestyle, I usually expect that person to go into depths on those subjects instead of just telling me about their life and how great it is. This book looks gorgeous, Nafiza. Unfortunately, not for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

