reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Reading Forecast

*flails*

It was one of those weeks, you guys. Full of hard work and not-feeling-like-reading. Also I felt like lingering over the books I’m reading and I don’t know why I’m making excuses? Maybe it’s the headache I’m battling thanks to the heatwave we find ourselves in.

I loathe the heat.

I might move to somewhere very cold all the time to escape it. How did I ever live in Fiji for the first 17 years of my life, I will never know.

Anyway. I read last week. Here are the titles:

  1. Come Close Sappho
    I don’t get classic poetry…this one didn’t speak to me at all.
  2. Town of Evening Calm, Country of Cherry Blossoms – Fumiyo Kouno
    Beautiful, sad, inspiring.
  3. Shadow Queen – Deborah Kalin
    Meh. Avoid.
  4. A Drop of the Night – Stefan Bachmann
    I mostly enjoyed this.
  5. The Dragons of Heaven – Alyc Helms
    This was okay. I’m not sure I will continue with the series. I liked it well enough but I don’t know if I’m invested in it.

Currently Reading:

  1. I Was Told There’d Be Cake – Sloane Croasly
    Not as funny as I was hoping it’d be. The author reveals her privilege with every essay I read and she’s unconscious of it. Halfway in and hoping it gets better but doubting it will.
  2. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland on a Ship of her Own Making – Catherynne M. Valente
    It’s slyly humourous. I am enjoying it.
  3. Dara Palmer’s Major Drama – Emma Shevah
    Not enjoying this right now. The narrative voice is too young and too annoying. Hoping things change soon though.
  4. Black Wolves – Kate Elliott
  5. A Brief History of Seven Killings – Marlon James

 

To read in the coming week:

Ramadan starts soon so I don’t know how much energy I will have to read with the demands of work and all. I do want to return to Black Wolves and Seven Killings and read at least a bit more of each of them. And then we’ll see…

Save

Leave a Reply

