reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Reading Forecast

I haven’t been posting much here apart from the weekly reading forecast due to a determined and prolonged case of ennui that has me apathetic and quiet throughout the long summer days. Working at a 9-5 job (okay 8-4) leaves me with little time and what time I do have, I devote it to either drama watching or book reading. Sometimes I flirt with the idea of writing about the dramas I’m watching but it all just seems so exhausting. The drama-posts might still happen if I can muster up energy for them. I don’t know. If you really do want to interact with me, Instagram is the way to go. I am a lot more active there and prefer it over any other social media platform simply because visual expression is a lot more fun for me than anything else. Follow me there if you’d like. I post pictures of books I’m reading, trees I’ve seen, and food I’m eating, with some selfies thrown in. Hah.

Whew. That was a long introduction. Last week’s reading. Yeah. Here is the report:

  1. I DNFed I Was Told There Would Be Cake by Sloane Croasly because I couldn’t handle the entitlement in the essays and her lack of awareness for her privilege. Psht.
  2. I also DNFed Dara Palmer’s Major Drama because it was too young for me and the protagonist’s voice annoyed me. Sorry.
  3. I read Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire and it was disturbing and I didn’t really like it. I know everyone else loves it but I just thought it sad and not something I want to continue reading.
  4. I also read a book of monologues by Laura Amy Schlitz called Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! which was written for the author’s 6th grade (I think?) class. It has notes in the margin and is very much historically accurate. However, since my interest in medieval times is somewhere between zero and negative hundred, I didn’t much care for it.
  5. I finally finished The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente and adored it. I’m so glad I finally read it.
  6. 738 Days by Stacey Kade was sent to me by Ksenia from Tor and it was my first new adult book in a very long time. I enjoyed it a lot more than I was expecting to and no, this doesn’t mean I’m going to hunt down other new adult books after this. I just enjoyed reading out of comfort zone and being pleasantly surprised by what exists out there.
  7. The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan was also read and I remain ambivalent about Percy and his friends.
  8. A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry is set in Puerto Rico and tells a story of a white boy trying to navigate the unfriendly streets of a country that doesn’t like his kind of people. Perceptive but a bit too ambitious to actually achieve everything it strove to. Nonetheless, the book has interesting and pertinent things to say about neocolonialism and reverse discrimination. I enjoyed it more for that than the actual story which was very confused and bleak.

Currently Reading:

  1. A Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner
    I’ve only read the prologue to the story so far but I can already tell that I am going to enjoy Sophos’s point of view. Turner’s a genius at making whoever is narrating the story so much fun to read. I just hope this is not the last book in the series because there is no way I am ready to say goodbye to these characters.
  2. Black Wolves by Kate Elliott
    Okay, this is the first time one of Kate’s books is taking so long for me to read but this is simply because I am not giving it the attention it deserves. And that is because I am dreading the event that sparks off the story. But I will get past this agonizing event and continue with the story!
  3. And Only to Deceive by Tasha Alexander
    I haven’t read any of this but I am hoping really hard this is awesome and not disappointing.
  4. A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James
    I honestly feel this is going to take me years to read. It’s not bad. In fact, it’s really good but the violence in the narrative is difficult for me to take so I read it verrrrrry slowly.
  5. I Remember You by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, Philip Roughton (Translator)
    I started this intending to read only the first chapter and 42 pages later, I’m sunk into the story. It’s creepy as hell and I’m already very apprehensive about the futures of three of the characters but I can’t wait to find out what’s happening.
  6. Humans of New York: Stories by Brandon Stanton
    I’m enjoying this tremendously. I love the different kinds of people in existence and while I do think New York has too long been held on a pedestal and it isn’t the only place on earth with interesting people, I do like the diversity in Stanton’s pictures and the stories he curates in the books.

To read in the coming week:

Obviously the books above but if i do finish at least three or four of them, I will probably give the following a try:

  1. The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu. I’ve been wanting to read this for a long while anyway and now that I have a review copy, I have no choice but to read this so…actually, I’m probably going to start this very soon.
  2. The Year of the Three Sisters by Andrew Cheng
    I gather this is the fourth in a series but apparently, it is possible to read them as standalones so…
  3. The Treasure of Maria Mamoun – Michelle Chalfoun
  4. The Rose Garden – Susanna Kearsly
  5. The Titan’s Curse – Rick Riordan
2 thoughts on “The Reading Forecast

Leave a Reply

