reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Reading Forecast

Whoo. We are here, yet again. Time seems to be speeding on by. I had a great reading week this past week.

I read:

  1. A Murder at Rosamund’s Gate – Susanna Calkins
    Usually the lady mysteries I like to read feature protagonists who are from the nobility and honestly I was getting a mite sick of their privilege and entitlement. That’s why this book which features a chamber maid as the detective was so interesting. It gave a glimpse of the class divisions and it was refreshing having a heroine who didn’t see the servants as furniture.
  2. And Only to Deceive – Tasha Alexander
    I had such high hopes for this one.  High hopes that were quickly dashed when it became apparent that the protagonist is dense and lacks the ability to apply logic to the mystery that surrounds her husband’s death. The romance was sub-par as well and just…horrid. Still, my friend said she was very surprised by the second book so I’m going to grit my teeth and give it a go.
  3. The Magical Fantastical Fridge – Harlan Coben
    The art was great but the story flailed. A more in depth review on The Book Wars soon.
  4. Skip Beat 3-in-1 Edition vol 8 (vols 22, 23, and 24) – Yoshiki Nakamura
  5. Skip Beat 3-in-1 Edition vol 9 (vols 25, 26, and 27) – Yoshiki Nakamura
    I’ve been reading the scanlations online and sometimes I feel like they are better than the official translations. Still, it was nice to return to Kyoko and get a better grasp of the overarching narrative that the physical copy offers. I have two more bind-ups on the way and I cannot wait!
  6. The Guilded Shroud – Elizabeth Bailey
    Beautifully written with a very annoying protagonist who has a tendency to ‘gurgle’ when faced with macabre situations and who, for some reason I cannot fathom, elicits the deep admiration of whoever is around her when she ‘detects.’ Needless to say, I won’t be continuing with this series.
  7. Humans of New York: Stories – Brandon Stanton
    Adored this. I loved the glimpses.
  8. Thunder Boy Jr. – Sherman Alexie and Yuyi Morales
    Loved this. I want everyone to read it.
  9. Silence is Goldfish – Annabel Pitcher
    This was difficult to read because it’s so raw and painful. At the same time, it was very difficult to put down. Review on the book wars soon.
  10. Murder at Brightwell – Ashley Weaver
    The third of the mystery novels I wanted to check out and I enjoyed this. Still very privileged but I liked the romance in this one. So I shall continue with the series. And also, the mystery was rather unpredictable.

I am currently reading:

  1. A Conspiracy of Kings – Megan Whalen Turner
    I’ve yet to read more than the prologue but I will! This week.
  2. Black Wolves – Kate Elliott
    Still stuck at 56 pages only because I haven’t picked it up again.
  3. A Brief History of Seven Killings – Marlon James
    Ditto.
  4. A Sword in the Stacks – Jen Swann Downey
    I absolutely loved the first in this series so when the author contacted me about taking this on to review, I jumped at the chance. I hope it is as good as the first one.
  5. The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu
    I’ve started the first one and I am already blown away by Liu’s creativity.
  6. Julia Vanishes – Catherine Egan
    I’m in the mood for historical fiction.
  7. I Remember You by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, Philip Roughton (Translator)
    I’m 150 pages in and liking this. There’s this sense of tense anticipation over the whole story that I really like.
  8. The Rose Garden – Susanna Kearsley
    This is way out of my comfort zone but it had good reviews so I picked it up. 124 pages in I am rethinking my decision. It’s a time travel story where the love interest is in the past and the protagonist will have to decide whether to stay with him or stay in the present. I hope she decides on the latter because no matter how swoony love is, financial independence and modern facilities beat everything the past has to offer.
  9. A Hundred Thousand Worlds – Bob Proehl
    Another book that’s out of my comfort zone but one that I am finding very readable. All I know is comic conventions, a mother/son pair, and a journey.

To read in the coming week…

…..what I’m already reading.

Leave a Reply

