reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Reading Forecast

That time of the week again. And hmm. Let’s get straight into the reading report.

Strangely, even though it didn’t feel like I got much reading done last week, I ended up reading 6 books which I guess is no mean feat. Here is a list:

  1. Skip Beat 3-in-1 Edition vol 10 (28-29-30) – Yoshiki Nakamura
    I always appreciate Skip Beat’s bound-up versions because the narrative is infinitely more satisfying when read in one gulp rather than a measly 30 pages/month as I have been doing for the past 3 years. Things I hadn’t noticed before, connections I hadn’t made before, all become clear and the story is far richer for it.
  2. I Remember You by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, Philip Roughton (Translator)
    I finished this one last week and to be honest, it was atmospheric as hell but the ending was quite cliche and almost ruined the book for me. Still, I can now say I’ve read a book originally written in Icelandic so…
  3. A Conspiracy of Kings – Megan Whalen Turner
    Glorious, as usual. Now I join the wait to the fifth novel.
  4. A Poisoned Season – Tasha Alexander
    Far better than the first one in the series. Good enough to convince me to read the third one anyway. I still don’t much like the romance.
  5. Masks and Shadows – Stephanie Burgis
    Set in the ostentatious luxury of European royalty, this book boasts one of the more intriguing characters in a musico, a man who is castrated before puberty so he can retain his pure singing voice. The female protagonist is rather refreshingly uncomplicated and their love story, though unconventional, is supremely interesting to read. The writing confidently directs the narrative to a very satisfying conclusion. I recommend this one.
  6. The Titan’s Curse – Rick Riordan
    The stakes are higher in this third installment of the beloved Percy Jackson series and while I am not the biggest fan of the series (they’re a bit too young for me) I appreciated this book a lot.

So those were the books I read. Here are the ones I’m reading (and there are quite a few of those):

  1. Julia Vanishes – Catherine Egan
    I’m not sure how much I like this one. I’m only 19% in but it has yet to grip me. Thankfully, it’s rather short so won’t take me too long to get through. (74/384)
  2. The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories – Ken Liu
    I’m thoroughly enjoying this collection. All the stories have been gems so far and I am super impressed by Liu’s creativity. (74/450)
  3. The Rose Garden – Susanna Kearsley
    I decide to continue with this because I do like the writing even if the story is not really to my taste. Maybe things will change. (170/440)
  4. A Hundred Thousand Worlds – Bob Proehl
    I need to give this all my attention for an hour or two so I can make some serious inroads into the novel. Right now I can only say that the writing is lovely and I am enjoying the characters. (34/368)
  5. A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James
    I read a bit more of this and yep, it’s going to take me super long to read this. 52/688
  6. 100 Million Years of Food – Stephen Le
    Okay, this one is turning to be a lot more interesting than I thought it would be.
  7. Sword in the Stacks – Jen Swann Downey
  8. Black Wolves – Kate Elliott

To read in the coming week:

I hope to finish Sword in the Stacks though I haven’t yet really started it. I also want to make major progress in all the others I’m reading though I don’t know if I’m going to finish any one book. I’m also going to read and hopefully finish a Lady Julia novella A Midsummer Night and read  The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman. I also have some comic volumes to read so I’m going to have a lot on my plate.

Leave a Reply

