reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Reading Forecast

Hello, my lovelies. It’s a beautifully sunny summer day and I just finished a rather harrowing novel. I liked it but whew, the emotional pay-off was intense. Here are the books I consumed with great glee last week:

  1. The Art of Perspective – Christopher Castellani
    I enjoyed this a lot. The lit major in me was dying of happiness. More on this later in a review on the book wars.
  2. Home (Magic Thief #4) – Sarah Prineas
    The final installment in the Magic Thief series and I enjoyed the way the series was resolved.
  3. Nobody’s Baby But Mine – Susan Elizabeth Phillips
    Nothing like a well-pitched romantic comedy to make you feel better about a crappy day.
  4. Masque of the Murderer – Susanna Calkins
    This was an interesting installment to the series but the romance just lost me so I won’t be continuing with it. I don’t know. There’s nothing wrong with the writing or the characters but for some reason, I no longer care about any of them.
  5. The Battle of the Labyrinth – Rick Riordan
    This was fun but Percy’s romantic woes were super annoying.
  6. The Last Olympian – Rick Riordan
    Ugh. The white male saviour who is full of sacrifices and wins the world. Percy’s written with a really heavy hand and I just wasn’t his fan. Sorry folks who love him to pieces.
  7. Ink and Bone – Lisa Unger
    This is the harrowing read I mentioned. It is super good but at the same time, it is super brutal. I enjoyed it but dang.

Currently Reading:

  1. Point of Honour – Madeleine E. Robins
    One of my historical mysteries featuring a female protagonist set in a whorehouse…maybe? I think? I don’t know. I haven’t read much yet but I look forward to finding out. Please be good, book.
  2. Thrill Me – Benjamin Percy
    This has some excellent writing advice so I’m enjoying it and learning a lot in the process.
  3. Between the World and Me – Ta-Nehisi Coates
    Damn. This book is just..wow. I’m only 15 pages in but already hooked by Coates’s rhetoric.
  4. So Much For that Winter – Dorthe Nors
    Can’t tell you much about this, have barely cracked open the book yet but I expect grand things from it.
  5. The Butterfly Garden – Dot Hutchison
    This promises to be another harrowing read. I don’t know when I’ll get to this, it being an e-book. We’ll see.
  6. The Paper Menagerie – Ken Liu
    Still no progress but I’ll be reading some stories from this one this coming week.

To Read in the Coming Week:

Obviously the books I’m currently reading but I think I’ll be picking up some lighter books to accompany the more intense ones I’m reading right now.

Happy reading to you as well!

Leave a Reply

