poetry and poets

Activist Poetry By Women: Titles

I have been very into activist poetry by women poets this past year, especially after I read Migritude by Shailja Patel. I would love to read similar titles so I asked my Twitter followers for suggestions. Here are some titles, some of which I have already read and others which I have yet to check out. As always, suggestions are always welcome. Bolded titles are ones I have already read.

  1. milk and honey by Rupi Kaur
  2. And Still I Rise – Maya Angelou
  3. Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth – Warsan Shire
  4. A Bestiary – Lily Hoang
  5. Bestiary: Poems – Donika Kelly
  6. The Venus Hottentott – Elizabeth Alexander
  7. my name on his tongue – Laila Halaby
  8. Muse and Druge – Harryette Mullen
  9. Bicycles – Nikki Giovanni
  10. Citizen: An American Lyric – Claudia Rankine
  11. salt. – Nayyirah Waheed
  12. Migritude – Shailja Patel
  13. bone – Yrsa Daley-Ward
  14. Consensual Genocide by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha
  15. Preparing My Daughter For Rain:: notes on how to heal and survive.
    by Key Ballah
  16. Songs from Under the River: A Collection of Poetry by Anis Mojgani
  17. Zimbabwe by Tapiwa Mugabe
  18. Questions for Ada by Ijeoma Umebinyuo
  19. B by Sarah Kay
  20. The Iraqi Nights by Dunya Mikhail, Kareem James Abu-Zeid (Translation)
  21. Born Palestinian, Born Black by Suheir Hammad
  22. Weweni by Margaret Noodin
  23. Red Juice: Poems 1998-2008 by Hoa Nguyen, Anselm Berrigan (Introduction)
  24. June Jordon’s Poetry for the People – June Jordan

This list will be updated as I come upon/am suggested more titles.

Leave a Reply

