Discussion · lists

My Favourite Books of 2016, Part 2

Archivist Wasp by Nicole Kornher-Stace
Atmospheric, sad, inevitable. There are many things I could say about this book but I reckon you should discover it for yourself.

Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova
This was the most adorable graphic novel I have read in ages. It tells a beautiful story filled with diverse characters and situations, full of humour and life.

The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories – Ken Liu
I’m still not over this one. I really am not.

Between the World and Me – Ta-Nehisi Coates
This needs to be read in classrooms over North America.

The Wildings – Nilanjana Roy
For the longest time, I didn’t know if I liked this or was just weirded out by it but ultimately I spent so much time thinking about this book that it deserves a space on my best list because it’s the kind of book you will read, the kind that will entertain you and the kind you will think about for a long time after.

Dreaming Death by J. Kathleen Cheney
I will review this at when I reread it but suffice it to say that I really really liked it.

The Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
Smarter people than me have spoken about how amazing this book is. Believe them.

Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
It blended fantasy and science in the best ways possible.

Booked by Kwame Alexander
I have read all of Alexander’s books so far and he keeps outdoing himself!

An Inheritance of Ashes by Leah Bobet
Now this is the kind of Canadian Kidlit we need.

A Child of Books by Oliver Jeffers
It’s official. This is my favourite picturebook of the year and I have read quite a few.

One thought on “My Favourite Books of 2016, Part 2

  1. How did I forget to share Archivist Wasp >.> I’m glad it’s one that lingered with you. The stories about how memory and history are constructed make me really contemplative.

    Awkward and A Child of Books intrigue me. I will let you know the moment I finally get to read all the Paper Menagerie stories. Your lists are so fantastic. I’m also happy to not be alone in ignoring the 10 top picks habit XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

