Discussion

Currently Reading

I’m not even going to pretend anymore. My reading has stopped to a trickle. First the whole Orange Apocalypse thing happened. Then I started writing a lot which made me not want to spend too much time spent not writing reading.

Convoluted sentenceee.

But I love reading and I genuinely miss indulging in it like it was my damned job. Gosh, I remember when I did spend all my time at work reading. Oh, those days.

Still, I try to read as much as I can. I’m also back to indulging in chunky books because I no longer care about the quantity of the books I read as much as I care about the quality. I want to read good books! So here’s a list of all the ones I’m currently reading.

  1. A Curious Land: Stories from Home by Susan Muaddi Darraj
    This is a short story collection pubbed by the University of Massachusetts press. I believe the author is Palestinian American. All the stories are set in a village (well apart from one) Tel al-Hilou and detail the lives of the villagers in time, starting from 1916. They feature different characters who are, I’m learning, linked in some ways.

    The prose is criminally beautiful and I’m learning so much about the craft while reading it. I’ve read only 2 stories as of yet but I am going to enjoy reviewing this when I’m done.

  2. I’m Judging You: The Do-Better Manual by Luvvie Ajayi
    I found this through Janana of TheShrinkette fame and so far it has been fun. I’m reading about culture right now and Luvvie has a lot of pertinent opinions I wish people would take note of. I will be reviewing it here.
  3. The Queen of the Night – Alexander Chee
    Hm. I’m 115 pages in and absolutely loving it at the moment. It’s 561 pages long so I hope it goes strong until the end.
  4. The Devotion of Suspect X – Keigo Higashino
    I think I have watched the live action drama of this one but I’m not too sure. I’m only 26 pages in and haven’t found it to be particularly compelling. Fingers crossed though.
  5. Certain Dark Things – Silvia Moreno-Garcia
    Once again, I’m not that far in but I’m intrigued by the mythology presented in the book. Vampires in Mexico City, people.
  6. A Crown of Wishes – Roshani Chokshi
    I’ve just read the prologue and wanted to weep because it was so beautiful.
  7. Strange the Dreamer – Laini Taylor
    See above.
Leave a Reply

