Discussion · writing · Writing Diaries

On Writing: A New W.I.P and A New Method to my Madness

I took some time off between restarting the job search (erghhh) and finishing the first draft of The Fire Within. Just one week. And realized that I am most happy whenever I’m writing. I miss being sunk into a different work, miss my characters, and miss their lives. No matter how much I whine and whinge (sorry), writing is what makes me happiest. It only took me 33 years to make this realization. Heh.

So I decided to start a new WIP.

\_(ツ)_/Β―

So this new WIP is inspired by Peter Pan in exciting ways and I’m super keen to begin it except you know, I’m kinda still working out the structure. Somewhat.

I mean, also, the story.

The actual meat of it. The thing that will make people invest their emotions and care and right now, it’s really too early to say. So, like fungus, I’m in my absorptive stage. I’m going to read and read and read and see what I can come with.

This will be my 4th novel and I have learned that each one requires a different method, i.e. what works for one probably will not work for another. This one in particular is totally experimental and unconventional which is exciting but at the same time requires a lot of thinking.

Anyway, so I have decided to create a reading list for The Wild Ones. So far, I have read:

  1. Bone – Yrsa Daly-Ward
  2. I’m Judging You – Luvvie Ajayi
  3. Here We Are – Kelly Jensen
  4. A Bestiary – Lily Hoang
  5. The Geek Feminist Revolution – Kameron Hurley

More titles to be added as I read them.

 

Leave a Reply

