Discussion

#CurrentlyReading

I started writing this but went with another post instead so now I’m back to this post but now the books I said I was reading are books I have already so. So.

Sigh.

Let’s begin again. I am currently reading too many books at the same time but I got hit by this sense of transience last night, especially where life and living are concerned. So I’m going to gorge on words while I still can because, you guys, thing change so easily and quickly.

There are the titles I’m reading:

  1. The Clothing of Books – Jhumpa Lahiri
    This is a musing on book covers and not especially startling or insightful. However, I really like Lahiri’s writing and her style comes across even in this translated form (she wrote this originally in Italian). I should finish this quite soon since it’s a tiny little book.
  2. 100 Works of Art That Will Define Our Age – Kelly Grovier
    Well, I reckon this should have been 100 Works of Art that Will Define Our Age In My Opinion by Kelly Grovier because art is subjective and what she thinks is not necessarily absolute and unanimous. You know what I mean? I’m no art connoisseur but my friend is and reading out of your comfort zone is always a good thing, right?
  3. The Impossible Fairy Tale by Han Yujoo
    This is incredibly bleak and not going to lie, difficult to read because of this bleakness. So far, I haven’t yet found any verve in the prose. I am only at 29 pages though and I will plough through this because I feel it will be more profound as a whole than midway through or in parts.
  4. Good Immigrant by Nikesh Shukla
    I have yet to start this but it’s on the list because I intend to quite shortly.
  5. The Unquiet Dead by Ausma Zehanat Khan
    I know Ausma from Twitter and I have always intended to read this. I’m only one chapter in but so very intrigued.
  6. Saints and Misfits by S. K. Ali
    Sajidah is also a friend and I have been wanting to read this book for a while. I’m about five pages in and yep, I see how important this book is going to be.
  7. Sacrifice by Cindy Pon
    My library took forever to process this. I put it on hold last August so it has been a while. Stone and Skybright. I’m not sure if they’re going to be OTP but I have hopes. And well…I want Skybright to come into her own. I’m curious.
  8. Culture & Imperialism by Edward Said
    It’s so important in this time and age to be aware and educated and I’ve always meant to read more Said. I’m reading this super slowly because it’s very dense and requires attention to parse through and understand. So like 5 pages/day. I will finish it one day, iA.
  9. A Crown of Wishes – Roshani Chokshi
    Roshani’s prose is so beautiful. I’m enjoying this immensely so far.

 

Leave a Reply

