Discussion

#CurrentlyReading

It’s just after Suhoor on the 8th day of Ramadan and I am too full to sleep. So I’m going to talk about my most favourite thing ever which is reading…though these days I’m really into writing as well. I’m finally finding writing super fun. It’s still difficult, don’t get me wrong, but it’s something I seem to be able to do so I’m exploiting that…talent? Can I call it that? I don’t know.

Anyway, here are the books I’m reading (or lingering over for that matter).

  1. Strange the Dreamer – Laini Taylor
    I don’t know why I’ve still only read the prologue to this. I’m no longer as intimidated that her wordsmithery will mean my own abilities to write have been siphoned away. I don’t know.
  2. Culture and Imperialism – Edward Said
    Another one I haven’t read much (or at all) of since the last time I talked about reading. I want to read it but I can never quite get in the mood to continue.
  3. Men Without Women – Haruki Murakami
    You should all know that I am a Murakami fangirl and though I have only read the first story in this collection, I already love this book.
  4. The Impossible Fairy Tale – Han YuJoo
    This started off quite slow and ponderous and I worried that I wouldn’t be able to make my way through it but once I got used to the style, gosh darnit. This is creepy. I don’t know what to expect but I reckon some kids will die.
  5. The Possessions – Sara Flannery Murphy
    I need to pick this up and finish it. I only have a 166 pages to go but for some reason I am dragging my feet.
  6. Arena – Holly Jennings
    I’m only 37 pages in so I don’t know yet whether I like it or not. Ilona Andrews blurbed it so I hope it’s good. I trust them.
  7. Frantumaglia – Elena Ferrante
    I haven’t read any of Ferrante’s books but gosh, once I finish this memoir in letters, I will give on a whirl.

I hope you’re reading fun things.

Leave a Reply

