Discussion · Roundups

September Wrap Up

It’s not yet October 1st but it will be by the time I finish composing this post. I am hideously tired but made the mistake of drinking a large mug of chai with enough caffeine to keep me going for at least two hours into the a.m.

So I figure I will talk to the internet (or the void, whichever makes you feel better) about the books I read in the month of September.

I am at that point in my current work in progress where it is slowly taking over my all my mind so chances are my reading progress will slow down significantly. I hope I do manage to keep an average of 20 books/month for the next three months because it seems like a shame to read less than 250 books this year.

Anyway. In the month of September, I read 20 books. As I recounted on Twitter, they were:

  • 4 picturebooks
  • 5 graphic novels
  • 3 nonfic/poetry
  • 2 MG
  • 2 adult (fantasy) fiction

If you were to ask me what my favourite of these books were, I would laugh and tell you to go away. I DNF often and if a book manages to lose me before 50 pages, I stop reading it. I have too many books to read to slough away at something that I can’t feel. (Exceptions occur frequently.)

Here is the annotated list:

  1. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao
    After I got over the fact that I probably would not like Xifeng, I was able to enjoy the complexity of her character and the story she was being woven into. I enjoyed the writing and the world and I am ready for the next one in the series. Give it to me now please.
  2. Brave – Svetlana Chmakova
    I don’t know what it is about Chmakova but she has a way of making her characters come alive. Like right in your heart alive.
  3. Mighty Jack and the Goblin King – Ben Hatke
    It’s Hatke so I automatically loved it though I felt it was too short and the medium is unable to give the story as much complexity as it deserves.
  4. The Way to Bea – Kat Yeh
    I wrote this brilliant review on this book on The Book Wars if you are curious to know what I thought of it. (Spoiler: I loved it.)
  5. The Bloodprint by Ausma Zehanat Khan
    I loved this one too but it has a CRUEL CLIFFHANGER, AUSMA YOU MEANIE.
  6. Castle in the Stars – Alex Alice
  7. Gray Wold Island – Tracey Neithercott
    CHARLIE KIM IS AMAZING. Basically. He is my fave fictional character.
  8. Spinning – Tillie Walden
  9. You Bring the Distant Near – Mitali Perkins
  10. Adios Barbie – Edited by Ophira Edut
  11. Nejmah – Nayyirah Waheed
  12. Mind = Blown – Matthew Santoro
  13. Akata Warrior – Nnedia Okorafor
    This WAS SO GOOD, DAMNIT. I want moaaar.
  14. Molly & Mae – Danny Parker
  15. Come With Me – Holly M. McGhee
  16. The City of Brass – S. A. Chakraborty
    This was every bit as good as I wanted it to be.
  17. After the Fall – Dan Santat
    Omigosh, this picturebook just made me weep. I WEPT.
  18. Imagine – John Lennon
  19. The Changeover – Margaret Mahy
    THIS IS SO GOOD. I hope it is repackaged and remarketed to contemporary audiences who can enjoy Mahy’s genius as it ought to be enjoyed.
  20. Pashmina – Nidhi Chanani
    Well, I want more from Nidhi. This was beautiful and tugged at my heart.
Leave a Reply

